Whenever someone is pulled over by law enforcement on suspicion of driving while intoxicated, they will be subject to field sobriety tests and a blood alcohol content test. If the individual is found to be driving with a blood alcohol content that is 0.08 percent or greater, they may be charged with driving while intoxicated. While, of course, any DWI charge has serious consequences, the penalties increase significantly if the driver is found to have a blood alcohol content of 0.18 percent or higher. This is considered a high blood alcohol content and can ultimately result in an aggravated DWI charge.
The first time an individual is convicted of an aggravated DWI, they may face fines between $1000 and $2500, a maximum of 1 year of imprisonment, a driver’s license revocation for at least one year, as well as surcharges and other costs. If this is the offender’s first conviction, they may be eligible to participate in the Drinking Driver Program, which can grant a hardship license to allow the individual to drive to work or school. However, if the individual participates in this program and fails to complete it, the conditional license will be revoked.
Like any other crime in New York State, an offender who has multiple convictions will face more serious penalties. If you have been arrested for a DWI in New York, contact our firm today.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation and we would be happy to assist you.