What to Know About Being Charged with a Theft Crime in New York



    New York law does not take theft crimes lightly. If you are facing a theft crime charge in New York, it is crucial that you retain the services of an attorney who has experience handling such charges. Our legal team at Grunwald & Seman is prepared to explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about our services and how we can assist you, do not hesitate to pick up the phone today and give our firm a call.

    To discover how robbery and burglary are defined in New York and the penalties for both crimes, continue reading. If you have any further questions about your charges and how our team may be able to defend you, reach out to our firm today to schedule your initial consultation.

    How is robbery defined in New York State?

    New York state defines robbery as forcible stealing. An individual commits robbery when they use physical force or threaten to use physical force against another party while committing larceny. If you are facing robbery charges, you must retain the services of an experienced and understanding New York criminal defense attorney.

    What are the penalties for robbery in New York?

    If you are charged with robbery in New York, you may face the following penalties:

    • Third Degree: Class D felony, 2-7 years in prison
    • Second Degree: Class C felony, 7-15 years in prison
    • First Degree: Class B felony, 10-25 years in prison

    What defines burglary in New York?

    Burglary is defined as the act of trespassing or unlawfully entering or remaining on a property with the intent to commit a crime within the building. If you are facing burglary charges in New York, you must reach out to an experienced New York criminal defense attorney who will represent you in court. New York law does not take burglary charges lightly. You require the assistance of an attorney who has experience handling such charges and is willing to fight for your rights in court.

    What are the penalties for burglary in New York?

    You may face the following legal penalties if you are charged with a burglary in New York:

    • First-degree burglary: Class B felony, potential $5,000 fine, 1-25 years in prison
    • Second-degree burglary: Class C felony, potential $5,000 fine, 1-15 years in prison,
    • Third-degree burglary: Class D felony, potential $5,000 fine, 1-7 years in prison,

    Contact our Firm

    Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

    Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

    Recent Blogs & Articles