Charged With a DWI this Thanksgiving Eve in NY? What to Know

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

Charged With a DWI this Thanksgiving Eve in NY? What to Know

Thanksgiving Eve is a night that many celebrate by going to their hometown bars and catching up with old friends. However, this night also marks the unfortunate reality of any holiday that involves drinking: drunk drivers. New York does not take drunk driving lightly, especially on a holiday such as this. To learn the penalties for a DWI in New York, continue reading. If you are facing a DWI this Thanksgiving Eve, it is important that you reach out to our experienced New York criminal defense attorney for assistance. Our legal team is prepared to explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about our firm and how we can assist you, give us a call today.

What are the penalties of a first offense DWI in New York?

Drivers who are over the age of 21 will likely face the following penalties for a first offense DWI in New York:

  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Fines from $500-$1000

Drivers who are charged with a first offense DWI who are underage will likely face the following penalties:

  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • A civil penalty of $125

What are the penalties of a second offense DWI in New York?

Drivers over the age of 21 in New York who have been charged with a second-offense DWI will likely face the following more severe penalties:

  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • Up to 4 years in jail
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines

Underage drivers who are charged with a DWI for the second time risk facing the following consequences:

  • Revoked license for at least one year or until the offender turns 21
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • A civil penalty of $125

What are the penalties of a third offense DWI in New York?

Drivers who have been charged with a third offense DWI in New York within 10 years can face the following penalties:

  • Up to  7 years in jail
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Chance of license being permanently revoked
  • $2,000-$10,000 in fines
  • State surcharges

Contact our Firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles