Being charged with endangering the welfare of a child is every parent’s worst nightmare. As a parent, it is your duty to protect your child and keep them out of harm’s way as much as you possibly can. However, sometimes, people make mistakes, and when a parent makes a serious mistake that causes the courts to consider his or her fitness as a parent, their future may be on the line. If you are being charged with endangering the welfare of a child, here are some of the questions you may have:
What are the potential consequences of being charged with endangering the welfare of a child?
Three primary criminal categories reflect the different levels of child endangerment. For example, if you are charged with a Class A Misdemeanor, you may be charged with endangering the welfare of a child, unlawfully dealing with a child in the first degree, non-support of a child in the second degree, or misrepresentation by a child daycare provider.
However, if you are charged with a Class B Misdemeanor, you may face charges of unlawfully dealing with a child in the second degree. Class E Felonies very often encompass charges of abandonment of a child, or the non-support of a child in the first degree. These are all very serious accusations, and if you are facing these charges, you cannot afford to fight them alone. Hire an experienced attorney who is ready and capable of aggressively fighting for your parental rights.
What is “Leandra’s Law?”
Essentially, “Leandra’s Law” is a New York State law that reads, “any person operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated and transporting a child is guilty of a Class E Felony. In the event that reckless driving and death or serious physical injury is not a factor, an individual is guilty of a class D felony. Defendants convicted under the new law face a prison sentence of up to four years and a fine of $1000–$5000. The installation of a mandatory ignition interlock device for a term of at least six months is also an expected provision of sentencing.”
The law goes on to state, “Moreover, licenses are automatically suspended pending prosecution and once proven guilty, the person will be reported to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment and his/her license will be suspended for a minimum of twelve months. First time and repeat offenders are charged with an E level felony, regardless of criminal record.” If you are facing these charges, you cannot wait any longer. Hire one of our attorneys who are willing to fight in your corner.
Contact our experienced Long Island firm
Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.