Labor Day is a well-deserved celebration for all the hard work you’ve done this year. Being recognized for your work is great, and people very often travel all over the state, or country, to visit their friends and family for cookouts, pool parties, and more. People very often drink on Labor Day, which is fine, as long as you do so responsibly. However, many people believe it is okay to get behind the wheel of a car after having drinks. Rather obviously, this couldn’t be farther from the truth, though unfortunately, it happens more than we’d like to acknowledge. Not only does driving under the influence put you in danger, but it also endangers every other motorist on the road. This is why if you are caught, the consequences you face will most likely be severe. This Labor Day, law enforcement will be everywhere, just waiting to pull people over who may be driving under the influence. The best thing you can do is ensure you are sober once you are behind the wheel, or, at the very least, have a designated driver who will be. However, if you are pulled over and receive a ticket, here are some of the questions you may have:
What are the penalties for a DWI under the age of 21 in New York?
- Suspended license for 6 months
- A $100 fee for suspension termination
- A $125 civil penalty
- Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and associated costs
- Potential installation of an ignition interlock device and associated costs
Additionally, if you refuse to take a chemical test, you may face the following consequences:
- A $300 civil penalty
- A revoked license for at least one year
- A $100 fee to reinstate your license
- A $250 annual assessment fine for 3 years
What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI in New York State?
If you are charged with a DWI and are 21 years or older, you may face the following consequences:
- A revoked license for at least 6 months
- Possible fines ranging from $500-$1000
- Up to 1 year in jail
- Potential enrollment in the DDP and applicable costs
Additionally, if you are older than 21 and refused to take a chemical test, you may get your license revoked for 1 year (or 18 months for commercial drivers) and face a $500 civil penalty ($550 for commercial drivers).
Contact our experienced New York firm
Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.