It’s no secret that all drivers in New York State, as well as across the country, require a valid driver’s license to operate a motor vehicle. When an individual drives without a valid driver’s license, they can face significant penalties. Drivers in New York State can face a ticket of the aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle. It is important for drivers to be aware that there is a difference between driving without a license and the aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle.
While driving without a license is certainly not great, it is not nearly as severe as the penalties for AUO. If a driver simply forgets their license at home, they typically can avoid the consequences as long as they prove within 24 hours that they do have a valid drivers license. If not, there is a fine between $75 and $300 dollars.
AUO is a very different story and is a criminal conviction, not just a simple traffic violation. If an individual knew or should have reasonably known that their license was suspended and drove anyway, they can face this charge. A first offense AUO can result in a misdemeanor with fines between $200 and $500 as well as the potential for up to 30 days of imprisonment. The penalties only become more severe with each offense.
If you have been charged with an AUO, contact our firm today.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation and we would be happy to assist you.