When you are charged with driving while intoxicated in New York State, you are subject to face very severe penalties. New York wants to crack down on those who drive under the influence of alcohol and therefore, is doing what it can to keep the road safe. If you are convicted of drunk driving, one of the penalties that you may face is that the court can order you to install an ignition interlock device. This is a device that requires you to take a chemical breath test each time you get into your car to drive.
You won’t automatically be required to install an ignition interlock device for just any driving while intoxicated charge. The court will only require it in New York State if you were found to have a high blood alcohol content of .18 percent or higher, which is known as aggravated DWI, or for driving drunk with a child under the age of 15 in the car. The court generally requires that you keep the ignition interlock device in your car for a minimum of 6 months, with some exceptions.
When it comes time to obtain an ignition interlock device, you will have to obtain one from the list of approved manufacturers that New York State provides. In addition, the phrase “interlock device” will be placed on the back of your driver’s license to notify any police that pull you over that you are required to have the device installed. If you fail to do so, you are facing further serious repercussions.
If you are in need of legal counsel in New York State, please feel free to contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. and we would be happy to assist you.