Drug DWIs in New York State

Accel Admin   October 16, 2019   Comments Off on Drug DWIs in New York State

Driving under the influence is one of the most severe traffic offenses someone can commit. Unfortunately, even though everybody knows driving under the influence is not safe, people still do it. Generally, when people hear the phrase, “DWI,” they think of an alcohol-related offense. However, DWIs actually apply to those who drive under the influence of drugs as well. Driving under the influence comes with serious penalties that may impact the rest of your life. If you have recently been charged with a DWI, please read on to learn more about what you are up against and how you can fight back:

What are the consequences of a first-offense drug DWI in New York State?

If this is your first offense, you cannot expect the courts to go easy. New York courts seek to punish all those who drive while under the influence. If you have been charged with a drug DWI, here are some of the penalties you may face:

  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • A suspended license for at least 6 months
  • State surcharges and assessment fines

What are the penalties for a second drug DWI offense in New York?

If this is your second time getting caught driving under the influence of drugs, you will now be seen as a repeat offender. You must hire an attorney who is capable of fighting a second-offense DWI, or you face serious consequences. They are as follows:

  • A $1000-$5000 fine
  • Up to 4 years in jail
  • A 1-year license revocation
  • State surcharges and assessment fines
  • Potential mandatory participation in the Impaired Driver Program

What happens if this is my third or subsequent drug DWI offense?

If this is your third or subsequent offense, your future is at stake. If convicted, you face serious consequences and a stain on your record. Individuals with criminal records risk losing out on employment opportunities, qualifying for certain loans, or even renting certain houses.

Penalties for a third or subsequent drug DWI offense in New York State are as follows:

  • A $2000-$10,000 fine
  • Up to 7 years in jail
  • At least 1-year license revocation
  • State surcharges and assessment fees

Contact our experienced New York firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.