If you are planning on drinking this Halloween, you must ensure you either have a place to spend the night, or a responsible designated driver ready to safely take you home when the time comes. However, if you are pulled over and arrested for a DWI, you must hire an experienced attorney and read on to learn more about the consequences you may face.
What happens if I get a DWI under the age of 21 in New York State?
New York has Zero-Tolerance laws in place, so if you are caught driving under the influence and are under the age of 21, you may be facing serious charges. They are as follows:
- 6-month license suspension
- A $100 fee for suspension termination
- A $125 civil penalty
- Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP)
- Potential installation and use of an ignition interlock device
However, if you refused to take a chemical test, your charges may be even further increased. For refusing a chemical test while under the age of 21, you may face the following penalties:
- A $300 civil penalty
- A 1-year license revocation
- A $100 fee to reinstate your license
- A $250 annual assessment fine for 3 years
What happens if I am caught with a DWI with no prior offenses?
First-time DWI offenses still come with heavy punishments in New York, even if you are over the age of 21. You may face the following consequences for a DWI offense:
- A revoked license for at least 6 months
- Potential $500-$1000 fines
- Up to 1 year of incarceration
- Potential enrollment in the DDP
If you are 21 years or older and refused to take a chemical test, you may face a 1-year license revocation and face a $500 civil penalty. Our firm will fight to have your charges mitigated.
What are the consequences of a second New York DWI offense?
You will now be treated as a repeat offender by New York courts. You may face the following penalties for a second DWI offense:
- A 2-year license revocation
- A $1,000-$5,000 fine
- Up to 4 years incarceration
- Enrollment in the DDP
What are the penalties for a third or subsequent DWI offense?
The consequences of a third or subsequent DWI offense in New York are as follows:
- A $2,000-$10,000 fine
- Up to 7 years incarceration
- A 10-year license revocation, though you may have your license revoked for life
- Yearly surcharges
Contact our experienced New York firm
Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.