Will I Lose My Car After a DWI in New York?

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

If you are facing DWI charges in the state of New York, continue reading to learn the consequences you may face. For assistance with your charges, do not hesitate to contact our experienced Garden City, NY DWI | DUI attorney. To learn more about our services and how we can assist you and your DWI charges, give our firm a call to schedule your initial consultation.

Can I lose my car after a DWI in New York?

The police can immediately impound your vehicle if you have been arrested on a DWI or DUI charge in New York. After your arrest, you will be able to obtain the car. However, you will still be required to pay the forfeiture fees including impound lot and towing fees.

What are the penalties of a first offense DWI in New York?

Drivers over the age of 21 will face the following consequences after a first offense DWI in New York:

  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Fines from $500-$1000
  • Enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

Underage drivers facing first offense DWI charges in New York will likely face the following consequences:

  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • Enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • A civil penalty of $125

What are the penalties of a second offense DWI in New York?

In New York, drivers over the age of 21 who are facing second-offense DWI charges will face the following more severe penalties:

  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines
  • Up to 4 years in jail
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

Drivers who are underage and facing DWI charges for a second time risk the following penalties:

  • Revoked license for at least one year or until the offender turns 21
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the penalties of a third offense DWI in New York?

In New York, drivers who are charged with a third-offense DWI within 10 years may face the following penalties:

  • $2,000-$10,000 in fines
  • Up to  7 years in jail
  • State surcharges
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Chance of license being permanently revoked

If you are facing any of the above penalties, do not hesitate to contact our Nassau County criminal defense attorneys.

Contact our Firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles