What are the Marijuana Laws in New York?

Accel Admin   February 13, 2020   Comments Off on What are the Marijuana Laws in New York?

When an individual is charged with a drug offense in the state of New York, it is a very serious crime that is treated as such. In these situations, offenders can face significant penalties that have the potential to impact them for the rest of their life. This can include jail time, hefty fines, and the lifelong burdens of a criminal record.  It is because of this that those dealing with these matters need to retain the services of an experienced and aggressive New York criminal defense attorney who can fight for their future.

Marijuana Possession Laws

While many states have made the move to legalize recreational marijuana, the state of New York has not, and it is still illegal. The penalties of possessing this drug can range from a simple violation to a felony charge. The consequences of marijuana possession in New York are as follows:

  • 28 grams or less is a violation with a maximum fine of $50
  • More than 28 grams to 2 oz is a violation with a maximum fine of $200
  • 2 oz – 8 oz is a misdemeanor with the possibility of up to 1 year of incarceration and a fine of up to $1000
  • 8 oz – 1 lb is a felony that can result in up to 4 years of incarceration and a fine up to $5,000
  • 1 to 10 lbs is a felony that can result in up to 7 years of incarceration and a fine up to $5,000
  • More than 10 lbs is a felony that can result in up to 15 years of incarceration and a fine up to $15,000
  • Possessing marijuana in public view is a violation that can result in a $200 maximum fine

Marijuana Sale Laws

If an individual is found selling marijuana, this is a more severe offense. The penalties of this charge are as follows:

  • The sale of 2 grams or less without profit or 1 marijuana cigarette is a misdemeanor that can result in up to 3 months of incarceration and a fine up to $500
  • The sale of 25 grams or less is a misdemeanor that can result in up to 1 year of incarceration and a fine up to $1000
  • The sale of 25 grams to 4 oz is a felony that can result in 4 years of incarceration and a fine up to $5000
  • The sale of 4 oz to 1 lb is a felony that can result in 7 years of incarceration and a fine up to $5000
  • The sale of more than 1 lb of marijuana is a felony that can result in up to 15 years of incarceration and a fine up to $15,000

Contact our Firm

If you or someone you know what charged with a sex crime, contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation and we would be happy to assist you.