This Halloween, you may be attending a holiday party. Typically, these parties will involve the consumption of alcohol. It is imperative that individuals know their limits when drinking and intending to drive. Having just one drink can affect your ability to operate a vehicle. If you get behind the wheel after you have consumed alcohol you are endangering everyone’s safety, including your own. Make smart choices, and plan your transportation ahead of time. Nonetheless, if you, unfortunately, fail to drive responsibly, you will be held accountable. If you are charged with a DWI charge in New York, contact a devoted Garden City, NY DWI/DWI Attorney who can defend your rights and interests.
This Halloween, what can result in a DWI charge?
On Halloween, hundreds of pedestrians and drivers are on the road. Making them a target for drunk drivers. Individuals may think they can drive home, however, their judgment is clouded by alcohol. This bad decision may result in collisions, injuries, or fatalities. If you drink, you should never get behind the wheel. If you are operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08%, you will be charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge which is a criminal offense. New York enforces strict DWI laws and individuals charged can face serious consequences which may include expensive fines, license revocation, installing an Ignition Interlock Device (IID), and jail time.
What are the penalties for a DWI in New York?
If you are charged with a DWI charge in New York, your penalties may vary in severity. If you have been caught driving while intoxicated and you are under the age of twenty-one you have violated the zero-tolerance law. New York enforces a zero-tolerance law that states anyone under the age of twenty-one years of age who consumes alcohol and gets behind the wheel with a BAC of .02% to .07% is guilty of driving while intoxicated. You will be charged with a $125 civil penalty and have your license suspended for six months. If this is your first offense, it is generally a misdemeanor. However, you will still be charged up to a $1,000 fine. It may result in up to a year in jail, license suspension for at least six months, court fees, and three years of probation. Additionally, you may have to install an IID. This is a breathalyzer that tests your BAC, if your breath sample is not clean, the motor vehicle will not operate until a clean sample is provided. If this is your second or third DWI charge, the consequences may be more severe.
Does New York have an implied consent law?
New York has an implied consent law where individuals must provide a breath or blood sample to determine if they are driving while intoxicated. If they refuse to give a sample after an officer requests them, they will automatically have their license suspended for a year. This refusal will cost you a $500 fine.
This Halloween, if you are charged with a DWI charge, allow one of our skilled and experienced team members to give you proper legal assistance. A DWI charge is a serious offense and you need proper representation. You can rely on us to defend your rights.