Speeding is an action that many drivers unfortunately partake in at least once in their life. Whether it is due to being late not or not realizing the speed limit, the sight of flashing lights behind you is never a good feeling. Depending on how fast you were going and where you were speeding, you may end up with a hefty ticket.
New York police officers follow specific guidelines for vehicles exceeding the speed limit. For each ticket you receive, your officer may implement a point violation on your license, depending on how fast you were going.
The point system is shown below:
- 3 Point Violation: 1-10 miles per hour over the speed limit
- 4 Point Violation: 11-20 miles per hour over the speed limit
- 6 Point Violation: 21-30 miles per hour over the speed limit
- 8 Point Violation: 31-40 miles per hour over the speed limit
- 11 Point Violation: Excess of 41 miles per hour over the speed limit
If you are found guilty, all points will be on your driving record for 18 months. If you receive 11 points within an 18 month period of time, your license will be suspended. After you receive 6 or more points, you will pay an additional $25. Also, after 6 points or more within 18 months, you are subject to pay the Driver Responsibility Assessment fine which is $100 every year for 3 years.
Not only will you have to pay a ticket when found guilty of speeding, but insurance companies will use that information to increase premiums which could financially impact your future. If you find yourself facing points on your license or a speeding ticket that results in additional fines, it is vital you seek professional legal help in New York State.
If you are in need of legal counsel in New York State, please feel free to contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. and we would be happy to assist you.