Over the last ten years, the use of cell phones while driving has been an ongoing battle between law enforcement and drivers across New York State. Driving while using a cell phone can cause serious accidents between motor vehicles, or even accidents between motor vehicles and pedestrians. Studies have shown that texting and driving can be even more dangerous than drunk driving. New York State is cracking down to prevent dangerous accidents that are caused by texting and driving on our already busy roads. In fact, it was the first state to ban the use of cell phones behind the wheel.
The consequences for using your cell phone while driving in New York are severe. Depending on the number of texting and driving offenses that you have on your record, you will serious fines, 5 points on your license, and possibly even a license suspension. Points on your license can cause your insurance costs to spike. In fact, if you receive 11 points on your license, your license may be suspended.
First offenders will face a fine of anywhere from $50-$200. Second time offenders within an 18-month time period are subject to a fine of $50-$250 and third or subsequent offenders within 18 months are facing a fine of anywhere from $50-$450. It is important to be aware that if you are a driver that only has their permit, you will face a license suspension of 120 days.
If you have been pulled over and charged with using your cell phone behind the wheel, you may want to hire an experienced traffic violations attorney who can assist you in fighting these charges.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. and we would be happy to assist you.