What are the Consequences of Reckless Driving in New York State?

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

What are the Consequences of Reckless Driving in New York State?

Reckless driving is one of the most common ways to cause an accident. For this reason alone, New York state cracks down on reckless driving incidents with harsh penalties. If you are facing a reckless driving charge, continue reading to learn the consequences of a reckless driving ticket in New York. Contact our experienced New York traffic violations attorney to learn more about our services and how we can assist you after receiving a ticket. Contact us today to schedule your initial construction.

How is reckless driving defined in New York?

New York defines reckless driving as the following:

Operating a vehicle “in a manner which unreasonably interferes with the free and proper use of the public highway, or unreasonably endangers users of the public highway.”

Reckless driving includes excess speeding, improper passing, unsafe lane changes, failing to follow street signs, and more.

What are the consequences of reckless driving in NY?

You can expect to face serious penalties if you are convicted of reckless driving in New York. If the driver continues to commit additional offenses, this will worsen the penalties. The potential penalties for reckless driving are as follows:

First offense:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Fines between $100 and $300.
  • Up to 5 points on your license.

Second offense within 18 months of a previous offense:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Fines between $100 and $525
  • Up to 5 points on your license

Third offense within 18 months of the first:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Fines between $100 and $1,125
  • Up to 5 points on your license

Having points on a license can impact an individual’s driving record. Points on a license can have lasting consequences. One of the most common consequences of points on a license includes rising insurance premiums. When a driver has six or more points on their license within 18 months, they may have to pay a $100 yearly fine for three years. Drivers may also face a license suspension if they have received 11 or more points on their license within 18 months.

If you are facing charges for reckless driving, one of the first steps you should take is to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Our firm will work to explore all possible avenues of defense. Give us a call today to learn more about how we can assist you.

Contact our Firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles