When an individual in New York State makes the decision to drive under the influence of alcohol and have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher, they may face serious consequences. Of course, the first time anyone does drive drunk, we all hope it is also the last time for the sake of their safety and the safety of everyone else on the road. However, some people have a tendency to act as repeat offenders of driving while intoxicated. As with many other crimes, having more than one offense on one’s record can result in more serious consequences if they commit the crime again.
If an individual is convicted of driving while intoxicated for the second time, they may face the following penalties:
- A revoked license for at least 1 year
- A fine between $1000-$5000
- Potential jail time for up to 4 years
- Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) as well as the associated costs
The third or subsequent time an individual is convicted of driving while intoxicated in New York State can result in increased penalties, including:
- Fines ranging from $2000-$10,000
- Up to 7 years in jail
- Revoked license for at least 1 year (possibly permanent revocation)
- State surcharges
Of course, these are very significant consequences. If you have been charged with a DWI, whether it is your first or you have numerous already, contact our firm today.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation and we would be happy to assist you.