Memorial Day Weekend DWIs in New York | What do I Need to Know?

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

Memorial Day Weekend DWIs in New York | What do I Need to Know?

Memorial Day Weekend is a time to get together with your loved ones, throw some hot dogs on the grill, and commemorate those who have paid the ultimate price for our country. Like most holidays, it also is an excuse to enjoy a drink or two. However, Memorial Day also marks a heightened risk of drunk driving and DWIs.

If you have received a DWI in New York over the long weekend, you will require the assistance of a knowledgeable attorney. Continue reading to discover the penalties of first, second, and third offense DWIs in New York and how our firm can help you. Do not hesitate to reach out to our firm to schedule an initial consultation and learn how we can use our services to assist your legal process.

What are the penalties of a first offense DWI?

Drivers over the age of 21 can face the following penalties if they are caught drinking and driving in New York:

  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Fines from $500-$1000
  • Possible jail time up to 1 year
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

Individuals who are charged with a first offense DWI and are under the legal drinking age of 21 can face the following penalties:

  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the penalties of second offense DWIs?

Individuals who are 21 or older charged with a DWI for a second offense will face severe penalties including the following:

  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • Possible jail time up to 4 years
  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

Drivers under the age of 21 who are charged with a DWI for the second time can face the following penalties:

  • Revoked license for at least one year, or until the offender turns 21
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the penalties of third offense DWIs?

Individuals charged with a third DWI within 10 years can face the following penalties for their actions:

  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Possibility of license being permanently revoked
  • $2,000-$10,000 in fines
  • Jail sentence of up to 7 years
  • State surcharges

Contact our Firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles