Any time a person is charged with driving while intoxicated in New York State, you will be facing serious consequences. When your blood alcohol content is considered very high, those penalties increase tremendously. If your blood alcohol content is 0.18 percent or higher, you will be subject to a charge of aggravated driving while intoxicated charge.
For a first offense aggravated driving while intoxicated charge, you may be subject to a fine between $1,000 and $2,500, up to 1 year in jail, license revocation for a minimum of 1 year, and additional fees and surcharges from the state. Ask your attorney if they can vouch for you to participate in the Drinking Driver Program, which can allow you to use your license and drive for certain situations, such as going to work or school.
If you have had a previous aggravated DWI conviction within the last 10 years and you are charged again, the consequences will be even more severe. You may face fines between $1,000 and $5,000, up to 4 years in jail, a license revocation for a minimum of 18 months, and additional surcharges.
A third offense of aggravated driving while intoxicated offense may result in penalties including fines between $2,000 and $10,000, up to 7 years in jail, a license revocation for at least 18 months, and additional state fees.
You will need the strong legal representation of an experienced criminal defense attorney who can provide you with the assistance you need in a serious matter like this.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. and we would be happy to assist you.