High BAC

Garden City High BAC Attorney

shutterstock_1459750-300x200Defending New Yorkers charged with Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (AGG DWI)

If you have been documented driving a car with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.18% or higher, you are facing an aggravated driving while intoxicated (AGG DWI) charge. This is a serious offense, as is any DWI charge. New York courts and judges actively prosecute people charged with such a high alcohol content and the consequences can be severe. If you have been charged with an AGG DWI, you need to talk to an attorney immediately. 

First offense Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (AGG DWI)  

A first offense conviction for an AGG DWI comes with harsher penalties than a regular DWI and the state aggressively prosecutes these cases. If you are convicted of an aggravated driving while intoxicated offense, you face penalties including:

  • Fines ranging from $1000 to $2500
  • Possible jail time up to 1 year
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • State surcharges and assessment costs

As a first time offender, you may be eligible for the Drinking Driver Program (DDP). This may allow you to keep your license on a conditional basis. Failure to complete the program will result in a probation failure, revoking your conditional license.

Second offense Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (AGG DWI)  

A second offense conviction for an AGG DWI within 10 years of the initial conviction is a serious crime. Similar to a second offense DWI, a second offense AGG DWI is a Class E felony in the State of New York. If you are convicted of a second offense AGG DWI, you face penalties including:

  • Fines ranging from $1000-$5000
  • Possible jail time up to 4 years
  • A revoked license for at least 18 months
  • State surcharges and assessment costs

In addition, you may be required to attend the Drinking Driver Program (DDP) at your own cost. Failure to complete the program may have its own set of consequences.

Third offense Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (AGG DWI)

If you have been charged with a third AGG DWI offense, you are facing a Class E felony which comes with severe penalties. In these cases, New York courts and judges are even more aggressive towards violators. If you are convicted of this offense, you face penalties including:

  • Fines ranging from $2000 to $10,000
  • Possible jail time up to 7 years
  • A revoked license for at least 18 months
  • State surcharges and assessment fines

In addition, the court may require you to attend and complete the Drinking Driver Program (DDP) at your own cost. Failure to complete the program may have its own set of consequences.

A Garden City firm who will fight for you

Grunwald & Seman, P.C. is ready to fight for you. If you have been charged with an aggravated DWI, you are facing severe consequences. The experienced attorneys at the firm will work tirelessly to help you come to the best possible conclusion to your legal matter. There are many defenses to explore that may alleviate the impact of the charge or have it dropped completely. You need a firm that has the tenacity and persistence to see your case through and use all legal means to defend you. If you are in need of our legal services, Grunwald & Seman, P.C.are ready to serve. Time is of the essence. Call today.