Second Offense

Garden City Second DWI Offense Attorneys

shutterstock_18277498-300x203Defending clients charged with a second DWI offense

New York State takes drunk driving cases seriously. The laws impose a more strict set of penalties and courts are less likely to bend to help violators charged with a second offense DWI. If you have been charged with your second DWI, it is important to know what you may be facing. Contacting the right attorney can make all the difference in your case. Grunwald & Seman, P.C. is here to assist you in limiting the impact of a second DWI conviction or getting the charges dismissed altogether.  

Second offense DWI penalties: younger than 21 years of age

If you are under the age of 21 and have been charged with your second DWI, you may be facing escalating penalties under New York law. With a blood alcohol content of 0.02% and higher, you have violated New York’s Zero Tolerance Law for the second time and courts are aggressive towards repeat offenders. The penalties, if convicted, may include:

  • A revoked license for one year or until the age of 21
  • A $125 civil penalty
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and associated costs
  • Potential ignition interlock device installation and associated costs

If you are younger than 21 and refuse to take the chemical test to check your blood alcohol content for the second time, you could be facing further escalating penalties for violating the Implied Consent Law. These may include:

  • A $750 civil penalty
  • A revoked license for at least one year
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license

Second offense DWI penalties: 21 years of age and older

If you have been charged with a second DWI offense in New York within 10 years of a previous DWI charge, you have a lot to consider as you face escalating penalties and a class E felony. New York courts are aggressive towards repeat offenders and having the right attorney on your side is highly recommended. The punishment is more severe and may include:

  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • A $1000-$5000 fine
  • Potential jail time up to 4 year
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and associated costs

If you refuse to take the chemical test that accesses your blood alcohol level for a second time within 5 years, you are facing additional penalties for violating the Implied Consent Law again. These penalties may include a $750 civil penalty and a revoked license for at least 18 months. If you have a commercial license, you are facing the potential of a permanently revoked license.

Contact a Garden City law firm who will fight DWI charges

At Grunwald & Seman, P.C., we are dedicated to our clients and will work tirelessly to defend them against a second DWI offense. We highly recommend contacting the experienced attorneys at the firm who will use all legal means to limit the impact of the charges or get them dismissed altogether. There are many defenses our team can use to fight the DWI, saving you from penalties that will negatively affect your life and livelihood. Contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. today.