What to Know After Being Charged with a DWI in New York this Labor Day

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

What to Know After Being Charged with a DWI in New York this Labor Day

Labor Day unfortunately marks a heightened risk of drunk driving on the roads of New York. If you have been charged over the long weekend, it is important to understand the penalties that you may face for your actions. If you require assistance with your charges, it is best to retain the services of an experienced criminals defense attorney who will walk you through the legal process ahead. Our skilled team of attorneys is prepared to take on your case today. We will fight for your rights in court. To learn more about our services and how we can assist you, give our firm a call to discuss your situation. We would be happy to schedule your initial consultation as soon as possible.

What are the penalties of a first offense DWI?

New York drivers over the age of 21 will likely face the following consequences for first offense DWIs:

  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Fines from $500-$1000
  • Possible jail time up to 1 year
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

Underage drivers who are charged with a first offense DWI can face the following penalties:

  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the penalties of second offense DWIs?

Drivers over the age of 21 who have been charged with a second-offense DWI will face the following severe penalties in New York:

  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • Possible jail time up to 4 years
  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

Drivers under the age of 21 who are charged with a DWI for the second time risk facing the following consequences:

  • Revoked license for at least one year, or until the offender turns 21
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the penalties of third offense DWIs?

Drivers who have been caught drinking and driving for the third time within 10 years can face the following penalties for their actions:

  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Possibility of license being permanently revoked
  • $2,000-$10,000 in fines
  • Jail sentence of up to 7 years
  • State surcharges

Contact our Firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles