What to Know About Drug DWIs in New York

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

What to Know About Drug DWIs in New York

Driving while high is incredibly dangerous. While people often associate driving while high with marijuana usage, it is important to note that operating a vehicle while on certain medications can seriously impair your driving. Unfortunately, people choose to drive on a variety of different drugs, both recreational and medicinal. Regardless, driving while under the influence puts a lot of lives in danger. As a result, this charge is taken seriously and often carries severe penalties. Read on to learn more about Drug DWIs in New York and what the penalties entail.

What Are the Consequences of a First Offense Drug-DWAI?

DWAI stands for Driving While Ability Impaired. Those who are charged with a first offense DWAI-Drug charge face fines and penalties from the misdemeanor. If convicted, you are facing:

  • Fines ranging from $500- $1,000
  • Possible jail time up to 1 year
  • A suspended license for a minimum of 6 months
  • State surcharges and assessment fines

What Are the Consequences of a Second Offense Drug-DWAI

Those charged with a second DWAI-Drug offense within 10 years of the first face even higher penalties. In New York State, a second DWAI-Drug offense is a Class E felony and if convicted, may result in the following consequences:

  • Fines ranging from $1,000-$5,000
  • Possible jail time up to 4 years
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • State surcharges and assessment fines

In addition, the court may mandate participation in the Drinking Driver Program (DDP), which comes with its own fees and assessments.

What Are the Consequences of a Third Offense Drug-DWAI

If you are charged with a DWAI-Drug offense for the third time, you will face serious consequences. New York courts will not take this offense lightly. In New York State, a third DWAI-Drug offense is a Class D felony and, if convicted, comes with penalties including:

  • Fines ranging from $2,000-$10,000
  • Possible jail time up to 7 years
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • State surcharges and assessment fines

What Do I Do If I Am Pulled Over for a Drug-DWAI in New York?

If you are pulled over for driving while high, you will want to retain the help of a skilled criminal defense attorney. Our firm will work to remove or reduce your charges. We will fight for you and explore all possible avenues of defense. Contact us today to speak with a dedicated attorney.

Contact our Firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles