What to Do If You’ve Been Charged with a DWI this Halloween

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

What to Do If You’ve Been Charged with a DWI this Halloween

Many will choose to celebrate Halloween by partaking in partying and drinking over the weekend. This also means that there will be a heightened risk for drunk driving incidents on the roads of New Jersey over Halloween weekend. If you have been charged with a DWI this Halloween, continue reading to learn the potential penalties you may face. If you require assistance with your charges, reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney today.

What qualifies a driver for a DWI in New York?

The blood alcohol content will determine whether a driver will receive a DWI in New York. They will be charged with a DWI if they meet the following qualifications:

  • You are over 21 and you have a BAC of .08% or higher
  • You are over 21, driving a commercial motor vehicle, and you have a BAC of .04% or higher
  • You are under 21 and have a BAC of .02% or higher

What are the penalties for a first offense DWI in New York?

If a driver has received a DWI for the first time and are above 21 years old, they may face the following consequences:

  • A revoked license for 6 months or more
  • Possible fines of $500-$1,000
  • Possible jail time of up to 1 year
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and applicable costs

If the driver is under 21 years old and has received a DWI, they will face the following:

  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • $125 civil penalty
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and associated costs
  • Potential ignition interlock device installation and associated costs

What are the penalties for a second-offense DWI?

If the driver is over 21 years old and has received a second-offense DWI, they should be prepared to face the following consequences:

  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • A $1,000-$5,000 fine
  • Potential jail time of up to 4 years
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and associated costs

If the driver has received a second DWI and is under the age of 21, they will face the following:

  • A revoked license for 1 year or until the age of 21
  • A $125 civil penalty
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and associated costs
  • Potential ignition interlock device installation and associated costs

What are the penalties for a third-offense DWI?

Drivers may face the following penalties if they have been charged with a third-offense DWI in New Jersey:

  • Fines ranging from $2,000-$10,000
  • Up to 7 years in jail
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year, with the possibility of having it permanently revoked
  • State surcharges

Contact our Firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles