In 2009, New York State enacted a piece of legislation known as Leandra’s Law that serves to protect children under the age of 15 who are in a vehicle with a person who is driving while intoxicated. Anyone who is convicted for violating Leandra’s Law faces severe penalties and can have an effect on the rest of your life.
Anyone who is found to have driven drunk with a child under 15 in their vehicle will be charged with a Class E Felony. They will have to install an ignition interlock device, which requires a driver to take a chemical breath test before they start their car. The car will not start if the test reads a blood alcohol content of 0.025 percent or higher. If there is a violation of the blood alcohol content level, an alarm will sound until the car is turned off. The ignition interlock device has a camera that records who takes the breath sample, so the manufacturer will be aware if someone other than the driver tries to take the chemical breath test. The device will be required for a driver who faces these conditions for at least one year. This is not a cheap device to own. In addition to all of the other fines associated with driving while intoxicated, which can be thousands of dollars, the driver will be responsible for the costs associated with the device. The ignition interlock device costs $100 to install, another $100 to remove, as well as a monthly fee of $100.
If you have been charged with a violation of Leandra’s Law, you will need experienced legal representation.
If you are in need of legal counsel in New York State, please feel free to contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. and we would be happy to assist you.