In recent years, vehicles have become equipped with hand-free technology that allows a motorist to use their cell phone without having to look at their actual phone. This is an extremely beneficial technological advancement because it deters distracted driving. However, unfortunately even with this type of technology, we are all still guilty of glancing at our cell phones every so often while driving whether it be to send a text or dial someone’s phone number. It is illegal to use a hand-held device while operating a vehicle in New York. If you text while you are driving you are increasing the likelihood of a collision. If you violate New York’s cell phone laws, you will face significant penalties for this serious traffic violation. It is imperative to abide by the rules of the road to keep everyone on the road safe. In the unfortunate event that you are caught texting while driving and issued a cell phone violation ticket, contact a determined Garden City, NY Cell Phone Ticket Lawyer who can help you navigate your legal options.
What are the penalties for texting while driving in New York?
If you violate New York’s cell phone laws, you will be subjected to harsh penalties. You may face hefty fines, license suspensions, and points added to your driving record. Although these penalties may seem less severe than those for other violations, they still have long-lasting repercussions that can negatively impact your life. This type of traffic violation results in a 5-point ticket. Having high points as such on your driving record will result in negative consequences such as your auto insurance premiums skyrocketing. Moreover, if this is your first offense of a cell phone violation you will likely be subjected to fines of up to $200. If this is your second offense within 18 months of your first violation, you will be subjected to fines of up to $250. If this is your third or subsequent offense within 18 months, you will be subjected to fines of up to $450. In addition, it is pertinent to note that if you accumulate any additional points on your license within 18 months of your cell phone violation you will face the Driver Responsibility Assessment, which is a $300 fine you must pay over 3 years. You will also face license suspension if you accumulate 11 points on your driving record within 18 months of your cell phone violation. Ultimately, cell phone violations carry strict penalties. It is imperative to retain the legal services of an experienced attorney who can help prevent these harsh penalties.
In the unfortunate event that you have been caught texting while driving and issued a cell phone violation, don’t hesitate to contact one of our adept team members. Our firm is committed to defending our client’s rights and interests. Allow our firm to help you achieve a favorable outcome.