When an individual leaves the scene of an accident without providing information to the other driver, they may face severe consequences in the state of New York. To learn more about these penalties, read on and reach out to our Nassau County criminal defense attorneys.
Can I be charged for leaving the scene of an accident?
New York considers leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage or personal injury to be a serious violation. Drivers must stop their vehicles and exchange insurance information with the other party after being involved in an accident. It is also required for both parties to wait for the police to arrive at the scene if they are called.
Failure to remain at the scene of an accident or exchange insurance information comes with serious legal repercussions. There will also be repercussions for failing to wait for the police. These penalties are tied to traditional hit and run accidents and parking lot accidents where a vehicle strikes an unoccupied vehicle. In a parking lot accident, drivers are required to work to locate the driver of the vehicle they struck or put their insurance information on the vehicle for the other driver to find. It is required to exchange information even if a minor damage is done.
It is recommended that you notify the police, no matter the circumstances of your accident. The police will let you know if they will come to the scene of the accident to conduct a report or if you are able to leave.
What are the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident in New York?
Leaving the scene of an accident may result in you facing the following penalties in New York:
- A surcharge of $88 to $93
- 3 points on the driver’s license
- Up to 15 days in jail for accidents involving property damage
- CDL drivers who leave the scene of an accident may automatically lose their license for a year even without injuries being involved
- Increased insurance rates for a conviction
- Facing criminal charges and a criminal record for leaving the accident involving personal injury
- Accidents involved injuries can cause a driver to lose their license for up to a year
- If property damage has occurred, drivers may face fines up to $250
- If a personal injury has occurred, divers may face fines up to $5,000
Contact our Firm
Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.