Arson is a charge that the courts won’t take lightly, which is why if you’ve been charged with arson you should immediately contact a skilled attorney. You could be facing serious jail time, so call our Garden City, NY violent crime lawyer now so that we can begin helping you fight your New York arson charges.
What are the different penalties for arson in New York?
An arson charge is split into a variety of classifications depending on the severity of the crime. The subsequent penalties range from a misdemeanor to a felony with the possibility of life imprisonment. The different degrees of an arson offense are as follows:
- Arson in the first degree – Class A-1 felony resulting in either a life sentence or a minimum sentence of 15 – 40 years in prison.
- Arson in the second degree – Class B felony with a maximum of 25 years in prison and a minimum of 5 years in prison.
- Arson in the third degree – Class C felony resulting in between 1 and 15 years in prison, and possible fines.
- Arson in the fourth degree – Class E felony with either 4 years in prison or 5 years of probation, and possible fines.
- Arson in the fifth degree – Class A misdemeanor with a maximum of 1 year in prison and 3 years of probation instead of a prison sentence. Fines may be included.
What are some defenses against arson in New York?
There are a few defenses for arson that your lawyer can make, despite the severity of these charges. If you’ve committed arson, your priority should be to get an experienced attorney who will vehemently fight these charges. Some defenses that a skilled attorney could use are:
- First degree – If you’ve seriously injured someone, it could be argued that the fire was accidental.
- Second degree – It could be argued that you thought the building was empty.
- Third degree – It could be argued that you were the only property owner.
- Fourth degree – It could be argued that the fire was accidental.
- Fifth degree – It could be argued that the fire was accidental.
How can a criminal defense attorney help me?
If you’ve received an arson charge, then your first recourse must be to hire a skilled criminal defense attorney. An arson charge is a serious offense that will require the skill of a seasoned attorney. Call our Nassau County criminal defense attorneys so that they can defend you against these serious charges.
Contact Our Long Island Firm
If you need experienced legal counsel for a criminal matter on Long Island or anywhere inNew York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation.