When a person receives a license in New York, they are trusted to follow the rules of the road. If they violate them, it can result in certain consequences. One way that a person can break the law on the road is by driving recklessly. If you are facing a reckless driving charge, continue reading below to learn more and contact an experienced New York traffic violations attorney to discuss your case.
What is Reckless Driving?
The state of New York defines reckless driving as operating a motor vehicle “in a manner which unreasonably interferes with the free and proper use of the public highway, or unreasonably endangers users of the public highway.” This can include actions such as excess speeding, unsafe lane changes, improper passing, failing to follow street signs, and more.
What are the Consequences of Reckless Driving?
Individuals who are convicted of reckless driving in New York can face serious penalties as a result. These can worsen if they continue to commit additional offenses. The penalties for reckless driving in New York are as follows:
- First offense: Up to 30 days in jail and fines between $100 and $300. You may also receive up to 5 points on your license.
- Second offense within 18 months of a previous offense: Up to 90 days in jail and fines between $100 and $525. You may also receive up to 5 points on your license.
- Third offense within 18 months of the first: Up to 180 days in jail and fines between $100 and $1,125. You may also receive up to 5 points on your license.
What Does it Mean if I Have Points on a License?
Accumulating points on a license can impact a person’s driving record. The more points a person has, the worse the impact can be. This can have lasting consequences, such as rising insurance premiums. This means, after receiving a reckless driving charge, you can end up paying for it for years down the road.
When a person has six or more points on their license within an 18 month period, they may have to pay a $100 yearly fine for three years. After receiving 11 or more points on a license within 18 months, drivers may also face a license suspension.
Contact our Firm
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a traffic violation matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation and we would be happy to assist you.