What are the Consequences of DWI Charges in New York?

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

What are the Consequences of DWI Charges in New York?

It is widely known that it is illegal to drink and drive in any state. The state of New York takes these offenses seriously and charges offenders with driving while intoxicated (DWI) if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit of 0.08%. If the driver was under the age of 21, they can be charged if their BAC was over 0.02%. These charges have the potential to impact a person for the rest of their lives, as they can face significant fines and possible jail time. The specific penalties a person faces can vary depending on the circumstances of the offense. Continue reading below to learn more and contact an experienced New York DWI defense attorney if you are facing these charges.

First Offense Penalties

Individuals over the age of 21 can face the following consequences if they are found driving while intoxicated in the state of New York:

  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Fines ranging from $500-$1000
  • Possible jail time up to a year
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

If the driver is under the age of 21 years old, they can face an entirely separate set of consequences as a result of their actions. This includes:

  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Paying a $100 fee for suspension termination
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • The possibility of having an ignition interlock device installed

Second Offense Penalties

If a driver commits a DWI for a second time, they can face consequences that are more serious than that of their first offense. For those over 21 years old, this can include: 

  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • A $1000-$5000 fine
  • Possible jail time up to 4 years
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

Individuals who are under the age of 21 may face the following:

  • Revoked license for at least one year, or until the offender turns 21
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • The possibility of having an ignition interlock device installed

Third Offense Penalties

If a person is charged with a third DWI within 10 years of their first, they can be subject to harsher penalties. This may include:

  • Fines between $2000-$10,000
  • Up to 7 years in jail time
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Possibly having your license permanently revoked
  • State surcharges

Contact Our Firm

If you or someone you know was charged with a crime, contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation and we would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles