What are the Consequences of a Cell Phone Violation in New York?

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

What are the Consequences of a Cell Phone Violation in New York?

As cell phones have become a staple in people’s lives over the years, it has become more common for people to use them behind the wheel of their vehicle. However, it is illegal for anyone to use an electronic device while driving, including cell phones. Doing so is a serious violation, which is why offenders can face certain consequences as a result of their actions. New York has strict laws for cell phone usage while driving. Continue reading below to learn more and contact an experienced New York traffic violations attorney if you are facing these charges.

Types of Cell Phone Violations

Drivers who use a cell phone not only put themselves in harm’s way, but also others sharing the road with them. Using a cell phone behind the wheel of a vehicle means that the driver is not paying attention to the road, thus making it possible to cause a dangerous accident. Some examples of cell phone violations may include:

  • Talking on a handheld mobile phone
  • Writing, sending, reading, or receiving any data over the phone. This may include text messages, emails, or the use of social media
  • Searching through the internet
  • Watching or taking any pictures or videos
  • Playing games

What are the Consequences?

Individuals who are found using a cell phone while driving can be pulled over and issued a ticket by law enforcement. Cell phone violation tickets can result in certain consequences. According to the New York DMV, the use of an electronic device behind the wheel of a car is a 5-point ticket and a series of fines. This can also impact a driver’s insurance premiums. The amount required to be paid in fines can vary depending on the offense. The consequences of a cell phone violation on the road may include:

  • A fine between $50 and $200 for a driver’s first offense
  • A fine between $50 and $250 for a driver’s second offense within 18 months of the first charge
  • A fine between $50 and $450 for a driver’s third or subsequent offense within 18 months of the first charge

If a driver is issued any other points within 18 months of a cell phone violation, they may be subject to participation in the Driver Responsibility Assessment and a $300 fine spread out over 3 years.

Contact our Firm

If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a traffic violation matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation and we would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles