What to do if You Receive a DWI This Thanksgiving

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

What to do if You Receive a DWI This Thanksgiving

Holiday celebrations often include drinking, which is fine as long as all parties are of age, and no one drives drunk. Some holidays are equated with alcohol more than others. For example, when people think of New Years Eve, they may picture bottles of champagne, and Christmas may evoke memories of spiked eggnog. The night before Thanksgiving is actually the most dangerous night when it comes to drinking and driving. Thanksgiving Eve has been nicknamed “Drinksgiving” and “Blackout Wednesday.” College students and young adults come together for the first time in months and tend to celebrate by filling bars and clubs. Unfortunately, many people drive home drunk the night before Thanksgiving. If you or a loved one receives a DWI charge this Thanksgiving, reach out to a skilled criminal defense attorney. Read on to learn more about DWI charges in New York:

In New York State, you cannot drive with a BAC of:

  • 0.08% or higher and you are 21 years or older
  • 0.04% or higher if you are driving a commercial motor vehicle
  • 0.02% or higher if you are younger than 21

BAC stands for blood alcohol content. Your blood alcohol content can depend upon a few things, including how much alcohol you drink, how quickly you drink it, and your height and weight, among other circumstances. When drinking alcohol, it is important to ensure that you have a safe way to get home. Consider utilizing a rideshare service or asking a friend or family member for a ride home.

If you are pulled over in New York with a law-breaking BAC percentage, and this is your first offense, you may face the following penalties:

  • A revoked license for at least 6 months
  • Possible fines ranging from $500-$1000
  • Possible jail time up to 1 year
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and applicable costs

Additionally, refusing to take a breathalyzer test can result in further penalties, so if you are pulled over, it is important to follow instructions.

DWIs are taken very seriously in New York state, so if you are pulled over for drunk driving and you receive a DWI, you will need to contact an experienced and committed criminal defense attorney. If you or a loved one receives a DWI over Thanksgiving, reach out to our firm to discuss your case and learn how Grunwald & Seman, P.C. can best help you.

Contact our Firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles