Possessing marijuana in New York is considered a criminal offense. A person may be found guilty of unlawful possession of if he or she knowingly possesses marijuana. The fines and/or penalties for possession of marijuana may vary based on a number of factors such as if it was a first-time offense, the amount of marijuana in possession, or if the possession was a repeat offense.
Degrees of Possession of Marijuana
The degree of offense for a marijuana possession charge can differ based on the manner and/or quantity that was discovered on the offender. The degrees can range from 5th Degree to 1st Degree. They can hold penalties that range from 5 days in jail to 15 years in prison, as well as fines that can range from $100.00 to $5,000.00.
What if I Possess Marijuana for Medicinal use?
In 2014, New York passed the Compassionate Act, which provides medical marijuana program that allows patients who are suffering from certain conditions to obtain marijuana for medicinal use. In order to use marijuana for medically approved purposes, patients must be certified by their physicians and have a registry identification card to obtain their marijuana products. However, patients approved for medicinal use of marijuana may only purchase cannabis in liquid, oil, or capsule form. Those approved for marijuana usage may still be subject to the same penalties and fines if they are charged with possession of marijuana.
If you have been charged with a marijuana drug-related offense, it is important that you consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can provide you with the legal defense you need.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. and we would be happy to assist you.