When a driver commits an offense in New York State that violate the laws of the road, they are subject to points on their driver’s license. Points should not be taken lightly because they can increase your insurance premium each month and end up costing you hundreds of dollars, in addition to the fees you may face for your violation. In addition, if you are issued more than eleven points within 18 months, you may actually be subject to a license suspension. In fact, if you obtain even 6 or more points within an 18 month time period, you are subject to paying a Driver Responsibility Assessment fee.
There are ways that you can have points taken off of your driver’s license (not taken off of your record), and therefore will help you save 10-percent on your car insurance premiums. In order to do so, you will have to take a Point and Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP) course that has been approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles. If a driver who has been issued 11 or more points on their license, they will be in jeopardy of a license suspension. However, if that driver wants to keep their license, they may take this course and have 4 points subtracted from their previous number of points.
Some violations will automatically award you with 11 points, such as speeding more than 40 miles per hour over the speed limit. You also must consider that you may be committing several violations that can add up to 11 points. For example, if you were speeding 30 miles per hour over the speed limit and you were texting behind the wheel, you may be subject to 8 points for speeding and an additional 5 points for texting. Therefore, you will most likely have your driver’s license suspended.
When you receive a traffic violation, you may want to hire an attorney who can assist you in fighting the ticket and trying to lessen the points.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. and we would be happy to assist you.