This New Year’s Eve, many people will celebrate the end of 2020 with drinks. But, some of these people will choose to drive home afterward. Drinking and driving is incredibly dangerous, and as a result, a DWI charge carries harsh penalties. If you are charged with a DWI, you will want to retain the help of a skilled criminal defense attorney who will work to fight your charges. Read on to learn more about DWIs in New York and what to do if you are charged with one this holiday season.
First offense DWI for drivers who are 21 and older
It is important to note that your DWI penalties depend upon your blood alcohol content (BAC) and your prior offense.
If you are over 21 years old, this is your first DWI, and you have been pulled over with a documented BAC of 0.08% or higher, or 0.04% BAC for commercial vehicles, you may be facing:
- A revoked license for at least 6 months
- Possible fines ranging from $500-$1000
- Possible jail time up to 1 year
- Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and applicable costs
If you are charged with a second or third DWI, the penalties will increase.
Notably, if you are older than 21 and refused to take a chemical test, you could be facing further penalties if convicted. These penalties may include a revoked license for at least 1 year and a $500 civil penalty, so it is important to comply if you are pulled over.
If you or a loved one receives a DWI this New Year’s, contact our firm to speak with a dedicated criminal defense attorney. We understand that people make mistakes and we will work to lower your fines and penalties.
Contact our Firm
Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.