Labor Day Weekend DWIs in New York | What do I Need to Know?

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

Labor Day Weekend DWIs in New York | What do I Need to Know?

When people gather for holiday weekends such as Labor Day, it often involves drinking to celebrate. It is important that this is done safely and does not violate the laws in New York. It is illegal for anyone to drink and drive in the state. Offenders can face severe consequences as a result of their actions that have the potential to impact them for the rest of their lives. These can vary depending on the circumstances surrounding the offense. Continue reading below to learn more about these consequences and contact an experienced New York DWI defense attorney if you are facing these charges.

What are the Consequences of a First Offense?

Drivers under the legal drinking age of 21 who are found drinking and driving can face the following consequences: 

  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Paying a $100 fee for suspension termination
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • The possibility of having an ignition interlock device installed

Individuals over the age of 21 can face the following consequences if they are charged with a DWI in New York:

  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Fines ranging from $500-$1000
  • Possible jail time up to a year
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the Consequences of a Second Offense?

Drivers under the age of 21 who are found drinking and driving for a second time can face the following consequences: 

  • Revoked license for at least one year, or until the offender turns 21
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • The possibility of having an ignition interlock device installed

If a driver above the age of 21 is charged with a DWI for their second offense, they can face more severe consequences than the first time. This can include:

  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • A $1000-$5000 fine
  • Possible jail time up to 4 years
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the Consequences of a Third Offense?

If a person is charged with a third DWI within 10 years, they can face the following consequences of their actions:

  • Fines between $2000-$10,000
  • Up to 7 years in jail time
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Possibly having your license permanently revoked
  • State surcharges

Contact Our Firm

If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a traffic violation matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation and we would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles