Reckless driving is no laughing matter as it often results in serious accidents. When a motorist engages in an unsafe manner while behind the wheel that they know or should reasonably know could endanger others yet still does it anyway, it is considered reckless driving. A motorist could be charged with reckless driving for numerous reasons including exceeding the speed limit by a substantial amount, tailgating, driving while under the influence, and other dangerous driving behaviors. Being as dangerous as it causes motorists to wonder whether reckless driving is considered a crime in New York. Please continue reading to learn whether reckless driving is a crime and what the potential penalties for this offense are. In addition, if you or a loved one has been charged with reckless driving, reach out to a seasoned Garden City, NY Reckless Driving Lawyer who can offer you individualized legal counseling.
Is reckless driving a crime in New York?
Reckless driving is characterized as any unsafe driving practice that “unreasonably interferes with the free and proper use of the public roads or reasonably endangers users of the public roads.” In some states such as New Jersey, reckless driving is not considered a crime, it is classified as a traffic violation. However, in the state of New York, reckless driving is considered a crime. Reckless driving is classified as a misdemeanor offense. Although a misdemeanor has less severe penalties than a felony offense, they still carry long-term negative effects on a motorist’s life.
What are the potential penalties?
In New York, the potential penalties for reckless driving may include an array of fines, license suspension, points added to a standard driver’s license, and jail time. A misdemeanor offense can stay on a motorist’s criminal record for a long time which can negatively impact all aspects of their life including their ability to obtain a good job as well as increase their auto insurance premiums. Those charged with a first-offense reckless driving conviction will be subject to 5 points added to their driver’s license, fines between $100 and $300, and up to 30 days in jail. Those charged with a second offense within 18 months of their first offense will face 5 points added to their driving record, fines between $100 and $525, as well as up to 90 days in jail. Those charged with a third or subsequent reckless driving conviction will receive 5 points added to their license, fines between $100 and $1,125, and up to 180 days in jail. Reckless driving is a serious crime in New York and those charged will face significant penalties upon conviction.
In the unfortunate event that you or someone you care about has been charged with reckless driving, please don’t hesitate to reach out to one of our dedicated team members who can help prevent these harsh penalties. You have rights that we can help protect. Allow our firm to represent your interests today!