How Long Will an Ignition Interlock Device Be Installed?

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

How Long Will an Ignition Interlock Device Be Installed?

Courts may require the installation of an ignition interlock device for someone who has been convicted of a DWI in New Jersey. Continue reading and reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney to learn more about this device and who is required to use them.

How does an ignition interlock device work?

Individuals who have been found to be operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .18% or more, which is considered an aggravated DWI, will be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles in most cases. They will also be required to install a device in their car if they were driving under the influence with a child under the age of 15 at the time of their DWI.

The ignition interlock device is connected to the ignition system of the vehicle and will determine the blood alcohol concentration of the individual. This will be done by the driver blowing into the mouthpiece of the device. If the BAC is above the set limit, the ignition will not start. The device will also require additional breath tests while the vehicle is in motion to avoid the driver using another person’s breath to start the car. Failure to provide these additional breath tests will result in the device issuing a warning and setting off an alarm until the vehicle comes to a stop.

How long will the device be installed?

In November of 2009, New York state signed Leandra’s Law which made changes to the state’s Vehicle and Traffic Law. This law was signed in response to an 11-year old’s death due to a drunk driver. This new law passing strengthened the penalties against intoxicated driving by requiring individuals sentenced for a DWI after August 15, 2010, to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle they own or operate as well as adding an ignition interlock restriction to their driver’s license. The driver will have ten days to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles and this device must remain in their vehicles for a minimum of 12 months unless otherwise stated by the court.

If you are facing DWI charges, reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorney to learn more about our services and how we can assist you. Our firm understands how DWI charges can follow you for years to come. Give us a call today to learn how we may fight for your rights in court.

Contact our Firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles