Fourth of July DWIs in New York | What do I Need to Know?

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

Fourth of July DWIs in New York | What do I Need to Know?

Fourth of July festivities include fireworks, barbequing, and family fun. Unfortunately, the Fourth of July marks a heightened risk of drunk driving. From 2015 to 2019, there were 1,339 drivers killed in motor vehicle traffic crashes over the Fourth of July holiday. 38% of the drivers killed were drunk.

If you have received a DWI in New York this past holiday, you will require the assistance of a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who will fight for your rights in court. To begin this process today, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced criminal defense firm to schedule an initial consultation. Continue reading to discover the consequences for first, second, and third offense DWIs in the state of New York.

What are the consequences for a first offense DWI?

You may face the following penalties if you are caught drinking and driving in New York and you are over the age of 21:

  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Fines from $500-$1000
  • Possible jail time up to 1 year

Being charged with a first offense DWI while under the legal drinking age of 21 can result in the following penalties:

  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation

What are the consequences for second offense DWIs?

Second offense DWI penalties for individuals who are 21 or older will face severe penalties including the following:

  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • Possible jail time up to 4 years
  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines

Drivers under the age of 21 who are charged with a DWI for the second time can face the following penalties:

  • Revoked license for at least one year, or until the offender turns 21
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the consequences for third offense DWIs?

If you have been charged with a third DWI within 10 years you may face the following penalties:

  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Possibility of license being permanently revoked
  • $2,000-$10,000 in fines
  • Jail sentence of up to 7 years
  • State surcharges

Contact our Firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles