What Do I Do If I Got a DWI Over Halloween Weekend?

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
 

FREE CONSULTAION CALL OR CONTACT US TODAY

What Do I Do If I Got a DWI Over Halloween Weekend?

Adults choose to celebrate Halloween in a variety of different ways. Halloween parties are filled with scary stories, creepy costumes, and sometimes, alcoholic beverages. If you received a DWI (driving while intoxicated) in New York over the weekend, you need a committed attorney on your side. Read on to find out more about DWI charges in New York and how Grunwald & Seman, P.C. can help you.

First Offense DWI

In New York, your blood alcohol content (BAC) determines whether you receive a DWI.
You can be charged with a DWI if:

  • You are over 21 and you have a BAC of .08% or higher
  • You are over 21, driving a commercial motor vehicle, and you have a BAC of .04% or higher
  • You are under 21 and have a BAC of .02% or higher

 

First Offense Penalties

If you are above 21 years old and you have received a DWI for the first time, you may face the following penalties:

  • A revoked license for 6 months or more
  • Possible fines of $500-$1,000
  • Possible jail time of up to 1 year
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and applicable costs

If you are under 21 years old and you have received a DWI, you may face the following penalties:

  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • $125 civil penalty
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and associated costs
  • Potential ignition interlock device installation and associated costs

If you receive a DWI, a second or third offense will incur a harsher punishment.

Second Offense Penalties

If you are above 21 years old and you have received a DWI for a second time, you may face the following penalties:

  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • A $1,000-$5,000 fine
  • Potential jail time of up to 4 years
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and associated costs

If you are under 21 years old and you have received a second DWI, you may face the following penalties:

  • A revoked license for 1 year or until the age of 21
  • A $125 civil penalty
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and associated costs
  • Potential ignition interlock device installation and associated costs

Third Offense Penalties

If you receive a third DWI, you may face the following charges:

  • Fines ranging from $2,000-$10,000
  • Up to 7 years in jail
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year, with the possibility of having it permanently revoked
  • State surcharges

A DWI is a serious charge no matter what. If you or a loved one received a DWI, you should contact an attorney immediately.

Contact our Firm

Criminal matters can change the course of your life forever. This is why you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively combat your charges to help mitigate their long-term effects. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation. We would be happy to assist you.

Free Consultation - 24/7 Service

Recent Blogs & Articles