DWI Charges in New York

Accel Admin   February 27, 2019   Comments Off on DWI Charges in New York

Being charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a serious charge against an individual. The state of New York maintains strict laws against drinking and driving. An individual can be found guilty of a DWI in New York if they are found driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit of 0.08%. If you are under the age of 21, the legal limit is 0.02%. A person’s BAC can gauge their intoxication through a Breathalyzer or an Alcotest. The state courts and judges are aggressive towards those who have been charged with a DWI. The criminal charge may result in devastating fines and the possibility of jail time. Penalties for a person charged with a DWI varies depending on the offense and if the guilty party is over the age of 21.

First Offense DWI

For an individual’s drinking while driving offense, there are a certain range of consequences depending on their age. For drivers under the age of 21, those penalties may include:

  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Paying a $100 fee for suspension termination
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • The possibility of having an ignition interlock device installed

For those over the age of 21, there is a different set of consequences:

  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Fines ranging from $500-$1000
  • Possible jail time up to a year
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

Second Offense DWI

A second time DWI offender is subject to consequences different than those of a first-timer. If you are underage, that may include:

  • Revoked license for at least one year, or until the offender turns 21
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • The possibility of having an ignition interlock device installed

For those over the age of 21, penalties may include:

  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • A $1000-$5000 fine
  • Possible jail time up to 4 years
  • The possibility of enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

Third Offense DWI

If an individual is charged with a third DWI offense within 10 years, they are subject to more severe consequences. This may involve:

  • Fines between $2000-$10,000
  • Up to 7 years in jail time
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Possibly having your license permanently revoked
  • State surcharges

Contact Our Firm

If you have been arrested for a DWI, it is important to speak to an attorney who can assess your situation and guide you in the best direction. Contact the Law Offices of Grunwald & Seman, P.C. today.

If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation and we would be happy to assist you.