In order to drive a vehicle, an individual must have a driver’s license. This is to ensure the safety of all people on the road. In order to obtain a license, a driver must go through a process in order to learn how to operate a vehicle legally. If they do not know how to do this, they can cause harm to many people. Alternatively, drivers who once had a license and violated the rules of the road may have their license revoked. When a license is taken away, it is illegal for them to drive. The state of New York works very hard to maintain safe roadways for all drivers. Drivers found without a license may be penalized with fines and the possibility of jail time. If you have been charged with driving without a license, it is important to enlist a skilled attorney to help your case.
Driving Without a License vs. Aggravated Unlicensed Operation
In order to understand what you have been charged with, it is important to understand the difference between driving without a license and aggravated unlicensed operation of a vehicle. When an individual is found driving without a license, they did not have a valid driver’s license. Aggravated unlicensed operation (AUO) of a vehicle is when an individual knew about the revocation of their license and operated a vehicle anyway. This is a criminal offense that may lead an individual to very serious consequences.
All drivers are required to have a license before getting behind the wheel of a vehicle. Everyone knows that it is necessary to have a license, but some people still choose to violate this law and get behind the wheel without one.
When an individual is charged with driving without a license, they may face certain penalties for their actions. The driver may have to pay fines ranging from $75 to $300. These consequences may include jail time up to 15 days, although it is rare.
When an individual is charged with an AUO, they are facing a criminal charge. An AUO in the third degree is a misdemeanor that may be followed by fines between $200 and $500. It may also include jail time up to 30 days. If an individual is charged with AUO in the second degree, this means they were caught a second time within 18 months, causing their penalties to possibly worsen. If charged with AUO in the first degree, this may mean a variety of things. Either the driver was found committing an AUO while under the influence, failed to appear in court or pay a fine for previous suspensions, or drove with a permanently revoked license. An AUO in the first degree is a felony, with penalties that include fines from $500 to $5000 as well as imprisonment for up to 4 years.
Contact our Firm
If you have been charged for driving without a license and wish to speak with an attorney, contact the Law Offices of Grunwald & Seman, P.C. today.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for a criminal defense matter on Long Island or throughout New York State, please contact Grunwald & Seman, P.C. to schedule a consultation and we would be happy to assist you.